Private Browsing

We understand that some people may be worried about someone finding out that you have visited the Horizon SARC website. Below is information about how you can view the website as safely as possible.
If you are not alone when viewing the site, for example you live in a shared house or are viewing the site on a shared computer then the quickest and easiest way to hide the site is by clicking the 'Leave Site Now' button on the left hand side of the page.  This button is visible on the left hand side of all pages within this site.  The Hide Site button does not remove the website address from your internet history; it simply redirects the page to BBC news homepage.

Although it is not possible to completely remove all traces of movement on the internet, you can take further steps to reduce the possibility of people knowing that you have visited Horizon SARC site, by setting your computer to delete the temporary files that are normally automatically stored in your computer’s history.  Even if this works, it is possible that someone else who normally uses this computer would notice that the history had been deleted.  You may feel it is safer to try and find information about sexual abuse support services on another computer such as in a local library or on a friend’s computer.  There are different instructions depending on what internet browser you are using, details are below.


Internet Explorer
To find out which version of Internet explorer you are using, click the ‘Help’ button and select ‘About Internet Explorer’, then follow the instructions below for the verion you are using.

Version 8 & up
In the toolbar at the select  the ‘Safety’ button and then select ‘InPrivate Browsing’.  A new window will open and any sites you look at whilst under InPrivate Browsing will not be recorded on your machine. In the ‘Safety’ menu you can also select ‘Delete Browsing History’ which will open a list of tick boxes for removing browsing history.  Select all of the following; 'Temporary Internet Files', 'Cookies' and 'History', then select ‘Delete’, at the bottom of the popup.

Version 7
In the ‘Tools’ menu at the top, select ‘Delete Browsing History’.  The popup shows a list where you can select items to remove that will have been saved to your computer whilst browsing the web. Select ‘Delete files…’, ‘Delete cookies…’ and ‘Delete history…’ buttons.

Version 6
In the menu at the top of the browser select ‘Tools’ and then select ‘Internet Options…’ from the dropdown menu.  In the ‘Temporary Internet Files’ section, select ‘Delete Cookies’ and ‘Delete Files’ a pop up will appear and select 'OK' to complete the action.  In the ‘History’ section, select ‘Clear History’ and then select ‘OK’.

Safari
Select ‘Private Browsing…’ to stop Safari from making a record of the sites you’re visiting.  In the ‘History’ menu, select ‘Show All History’ and this will allow you to remove individual sites from the history records or at the bottom of the ‘History’ menu there is a ‘Clear History…’ option, if you select this it will delete all your browsing history.  Through the ‘Preferences’ menu you can select the ‘Privacy’ tab and then select  ‘Remove All Website Data…’, which will clear out all the cookies and files that have been saved into your browser.

Firefox
Before entering a website, in ‘Tools’ select ‘Start Private Browsing’ and this will prevent Firefox from recording your movements. If you have already visited a site, in the ‘History’ option you can select ‘Show All History’ and then individually select and delete sites that have been visited. In ‘Tools’, you can also select ‘Clear Recent History’, deciding how far back you wish to delete, ranging from 1 hour to everything.

Chrome
In the ‘File’ menu, select ‘New Incognito Window', which will prevent your online activity from being recorded.  Select ‘Chrome’ then ‘Preferences’ and select ‘History’.  Select ‘Clear all browsing data…’ which will open a popup with a list in it.  Select all of the following; ‘Clear browsing history’, ‘Clear download history’, ‘Empty the cache’ and ‘Delete cookies and other site and plug-in data’.  You can choose how far back you want Chrome to go to remove the data ranging from 1 hour to everything.

Opera
Select the 'File' menu and then ‘New Private Window’. By doing this when you close the private window Opera will delete all the files and data it stored relating to that window.  In the ‘Tools’ menu, select ‘Delete Private Data…’.  The ‘Detailed Options’ tab will show you that you’re deleting all your cookies and history, and will close all your currently open tabs.